Use-Case 2: Quadrocopter

Quadrocopters are primitive aerial vehicles, which have its own control system. Because of this control system and its stabilization ability it can be seen as a self-operating partial-autonomous system.

We focus on mechatronics and control on this particular use case. For controlling, a simulation model with dynamic equations of the quadrocopter is generated within the domain-specific software tool Matlab / Simulink. This model consists of a set of non-linear differential equations which descripe the position and orientation of the quadrocopter in space. As an input for this simulation on the one hand the steering inputs of the system is used, on the other hand also external interferences are considered (e.g. wind). For this, the characteristic function for the transfer behaviour is accounted for.

Besides the controlling, structural optimization plays a major role in this use case not least because the quadrocopter is a best-suited example for lightweight design. For this reason, topology optimization models are automatically generated and different product designs are derived from its results. These desings have direct influence on the controlling model as the geometry is used as an input (intertia matrix). The overall product design process of a quadrocopter exhibits amongst others cost and montage simulation models and functions as a holistic model of the digital product life cycle.

Use-Case 2: Quadrocopter

Quadrocopter sind relativ einfache Fluggeräte, welche eine Flugregelung besitzen, die mittels einer internen Stabilisierung als eigenständiges, teilautonomes System verstanden werden kann. Der Schwerpunkt dieses Use Cases liegt auf der Flugregelung und der Mechatronik.

Für die Flugregelung wird ein Simulationsmodell für die dynamische Beschreibung des Quadrocopters in dem domänenspezifischen Softwaretool Matlab/Simulink implementiert. Bei diesem Modell handelt es sich um einen Satz nichtlinearer Differenzialgleichungen zur Beschreibung der Position und Lage des Quadrocopters im Raum. Eingangsgrößen dieser Simulation sind zum einen die Steuereingänge des Systems zum anderen externe Störungen wie z.B. Wind. Hierbei wurde auch das Übertragungsverhalten der Stellglieder berücksichtigt.

Neben der Flugregelung spielt die Strukturoptimierung eine große Rolle da insbesondere der Quadrocopter ein Beispiel für angewandten Leichtbau darstellt. Dafür werden Topologieoptimierungen vollautomatisch erzeugt und basierend darauf verschiedene Bauweisenkonzepte entwickelt. Das Ergebnis der Strukturoptimierung hat direkten Einfluss auf das Regelungsmodell, da die Geometrie dessen Eingangsgröße (Trägheitsmatrix) darstellt. Der gesamthafte Produktentwurf eines Quadrocopters soll unter anderem Kosten- und Montagesimulationen beinhalten und als Beispiel einer vollständigen Abbildung des digitalen Produktlebenszyklus fungieren.