Use-Case 3: Segway


The third use-case deals with a self-balancing two-wheel scooter which is commonly named “Segway”. A design language was developed for a Segway with the engineering tool DC 43.
This Use-Case demonstrates the digitalization and integration of different domains of the product lifecycle:

Requirements

The Segway is influenced by the user driven and legal requirements. Changes of requirements which are represented as changes of parameters lead to an automated adaption of the holistic model of the Segway. Manual reworking is hardly necessary any more.
Thus it is possible to calculate and generate a multitude of variants through changes of parameters within a very short time. The results serve as a means to elaborate optimal solutions regarding costs, quality or design criteria.

Geometry

This use-case clearly demonstrates how a geometric model of a product can be generated automatedly by using simple geometric shapes like cylinders, cubes or spheres.

Cost calculation

For the first time, the costs are considered in detail in a design language. Additionally, a library was developed for the monetary estimation of the product. This library can be utilized for all other use-cases of the research project. At a very early time of the product lifecycle the costs can be estimated by modeling the costs of the design process. Furthermore, costs are illustrated more transparent.

The Siemens software Teamcenter Product Cost Management automatedly creates an extensive cost calculation with the result of the cost modelling in the UML-model of the product.

Bill of materials (BOM)

The use-case gives the possibility to automatedly generate a BOM. Especially, the assembly-planning and the production requires such a BOM. Changes in a model lead to a consistent change of the BOM.

Topology optimization

A library for topology optimization which was developed in use-case two is also used in the actual use-case. Moreover, a topology-optimized structure of the frame of the Segway was created automatedly and then printed by means of a 3D-printer.

Assembly concept planning

In the UseCase Segway, assembly concept planning is also integrated for a holistic and comprehensive view of the product life cycle. In the sense of the Digital Factory, libraries for processes and resources are developed. A static investment calculation is included in the resource library. Based on the generated BOM, the process chains can be generated with the corresponding resources. Depending on requirements such as the degree of automation or the required production output, assembly systems can be modeled and the output includes

  • a corresponding work plan,
  • a comprehensive economic efficiency calculation
  • and other assembly-relevant KPIs.

Based on this information, further decision processes can be digitally modelled, especially with the help of further software solutions.

Energy balance

With the aid of the software GaBi an energy balance for the Segway is performed which is also integrated in the holistic model. Thus an energy balance for each product variant can be generated automatedly. With that result it is possible to evaluate specific sectors of the product lifecycle regarding the energy balance and to perform an optimization where necessary.

Teaching concept

Within project- bachelor- and master-theses multiple variants of the Segway have been developed, both digitally and practically. Various lecture series cover the utilization of the DC 43 tool …and the digital product design. For this reason the Segway serves as an introductory example.

Use-Case 3: Segway

Der dritte Use-Case beschäftigt sich mit einem selbst-balancierenden Personentransporter, welcher umgangssprachlich meist als „Segway“ bezeichnet wird. Auch für den Segway wurde eine eigene Entwurfssprache im Ingenieurstool DC 43 entwickelt.
In diesem Use-Case werden ebenfalls verschiedene Domänen des Produktlebenszyklus digitalisiert und integriert:

Anforderungen

Anhand benutzergetriebener als auch gesetzlicher Anforderungen an den Segway wird das Produkt gemäß diesen Kriterien beeinflusst. Änderungen der Anforderungen manifestieren sich in Parameteränderungen, welche zu einer automatisierten Anpassung des Gesamtmodells des Segways führen. Manuelle Nacharbeit ist damit kaum noch notwendig. Somit können innerhalb kürzester Zeit zahlreiche Varianten durch Parameteränderungen berechnet und erzeugt werden. Damit kann beispielsweise eine optimale Lösung bezüglich der Kriterien Kosten, Qualität oder Design gefunden werden.

Geometrie

Dieser Use-Case zeigt anschaulich, wie durch Verwendung von einfachen geometrischen Formen, wie zum Beispiel Zylindern, Rechtecken oder Kugeln, ein geometrisches Modell eines Produktes erzeugt werden kann.

Kostenkalkulation

Im Use-Case Segway werden zum ersten Mal Kosten explizit im Detail betrachtet. Für die monetäre Bewertung eines Produktes wurde eine Bibliothek entwickelt, welche sich auch auf alle anderen Projekte in diesem Kontext anwenden lässt. Durch die Modellierung von Kosten im Entwurfsprozess können diese bereits zu einem frühen Zeitpunkt im Produktlebenszyklus eingeschätzt werden. Außerdem werden die Kosten damit transparenter dargestellt.
Die Siemens Software Teamcenter Product Cost Management kann mit der Kostenmodellierung im UML-Modell automatisiert eine umfangreiche Kostenkalkulation erstellen.

Stückliste

Ebenfalls bietet der Use-Case die Möglichkeit, eine Stückliste automatisiert zu generieren. Vor allem für die Montageplanung und die Produktion generell ist dies notwendig. Änderungen im Modell führen zu einer konsistenten Änderung der Stückliste.

Topologieoptimierung

Eine im Use-Case Multicopter entwickelte Bibliothek für die Topologieoptimierung wurde auch für den Segway verwendet. Damit ist eine topologieoptimierte Rahmenstruktur automatisiert erzeugt worden, welche mittels 3D-Druck gedruckt wurde.

Montagekonzeptplanung

Im UseCase Segway wird für eine ganzheitliche und umfassende Betrachtung des Produktlebenszyklus auch die Montagekonzeptplanung integriert. Dabei werden im Sinne der Digitalen Fabrik Bibliotheken für Prozesse und Ressourcen entwickelt. In die Ressourcen-Bibliothek ist eine statische Investitionsrechnung eingebunden. Basierend auf der generierten Stückliste können die Prozessketten mit den zugehörigen Ressourcen erzeugt werden. Abhängig von Anforderungen wie beispielsweise dem Automatisierungsgrad oder dem benötigten Produktionsoutput können Montagesysteme modelliert werden, die:

  • einen entsprechenden Arbeitsplan,
  • eine umfassende Wirtschaftlichkeitsberechnung
  • und weitere montagerelevante KPIs beinhalten.

Basierend auf diesen Informationen können weitere Entscheidungsprozesse digital modelliert werden, insbesondere mit Hilfe weiterer Softwarelösungen.

Energiebilanzierung

Mit der Software GaBi wird anhand des Segways eine Energiebilanzierung durchgeführt, welche ebenfalls ins Gesamtmodell integriert wird und damit die Energiebilanzierung für jegliche Produktvarianten automatisiert generiert. Damit ist es möglich, einzelne Bereiche des Produktlebenszyklus hinsichtlich der Energiebilanz zu bewerten und gegebenenfalls zu optimieren.

Lehrkonzept

Im Rahmen von Projekt- und Abschlussarbeiten sind mehrere Varianten von Segways sowohl digital als auch praktisch entstanden. Mehrere Vorlesungsreihen beschäftigen sich darüber hinaus mit dem Einsatz des Tools DC 43 und des digitalen Produktentwurfs. Hier dient der Segway als Einführungsbeispiel.